english german

Youth Hostel Plakias

The most southerly hostel in Europe

Thank you! Love

Book Online (no booking-fee / no credit card):

Choose number of guests and date of arrival and departure

Our Reviews

100%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shani Busnach

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

2013-10-10

Liked: this hostel is SUPER! it`s located in the midst of beautiful hills overlooking the great beaches of Plakias, plenty to do around (awesome nudist beach, an old windmill and nice trails for relaxing walks). the hostel manager Uli is the nicest guy ever, knows everything there is to do, and brings all the travelers together, took us out to great tavernas to have lovely dinner and drinks cheap as heck! it`s chilled out, cool hammocks beneath the lemon trees, great breakfast (not included but real cheap and yummy), and wonderful company! I can`t wait to go back!

10.0
I had been traveling for a week and half in Crete, but it wasn´t until I landed at Youth Hostel Plakias that I actually felt like I was on holiday. I was only slated to stay there for 3 nights and ended up staying a full week, because the people I met were amazing, and the location is a perfect base to find river walks, hikes, excellent tavernas, waterfalls & the best raki ;) Uli, the hostel manager is incredibly knowledgeable and kind--he´ll give you the best tips for things to do, hike & eat.
  • 2013-08-21
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30


Amazing place
5 stars
Reviewed 2015-07-25

The best place to be. Nice and simple breakfast, good dorms, clean space and the best atmosphere ever! If you are tired and don`t want to walk around the town, don`t worry, you`ll meet great people and have a nice time, too!
Stayed July 2015, travelled with friends


Stayed ,
A chilled slice of paradise
4 stars
Reviewed 2014-10-15

This is the place to properly unwind and forget all your stresses. Uli, the supper chilled (German) Hollywood cameraman by winter and hostel manager by summer, will make you feel instantly welcomed and relaxed.

There are regular hostel BBQ dinners, free snorkel use and advice on the best beaches and gorge walks. I came for day, stayed two and could have easily stayed a month.

Must do: waterfall gorge swim - a slice of paradise all to yourself

Dorms are spacious with six to eight beds. There is one all female and the rest are mixed. Ours had an ensuite toilet and there is a separate shower and toilet block. The outdoor and kitchen space Is perfect for chilling out and socialising and hammocks hang between lemon and olive trees.
15 October 2014
Location: near to the centre of town, five minute walk to shops, restaurants and beach.
Cleanliness: average - could have been better but bedding was clean and in good condition.
Security: There were no lockers or safes for valuables and no locks on doors.
Noise: in a quiet location with no road noise. Lights off at 11pm in the communal areas but ear plugs needed as the blackout doors to the dorms ensure you wake up every time they open.


Stayed October 2014, travelled solo
10.0
This hostel is one of those rare and special places where you feel immediately welcomed and are given the opportunity to make genuine connections to the people and place. I feel so blessed to have found this beautiful community of people in Plakias. Of all the places I have travelled in the past month, this one I will miss the most. Thank you to everyone who made this hostel so special and for all the adventures that were had. I will be reccomending this hostel to everyone, and I hope to return
  • 2018-07-19
  • madelineblueeyes8906
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24


More reviews...