english german

Youth Hostel Plakias

The most southerly hostel in Europe

Thank you! Love

Book Online (no booking-fee / no credit card):

Choose number of guests and date of arrival and departure

Our Reviews

9.7
This place is what hostels are supposed to be about; really relaxed communal living and lots of fun if you´re looking for it. There´s also a lot of lovely places to see close by. I had a great time and would highly recommend staying here
  • 2015-10-13
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40


A chilled slice of paradise
4 stars
Reviewed 2014-10-15

This is the place to properly unwind and forget all your stresses. Uli, the supper chilled (German) Hollywood cameraman by winter and hostel manager by summer, will make you feel instantly welcomed and relaxed.

There are regular hostel BBQ dinners, free snorkel use and advice on the best beaches and gorge walks. I came for day, stayed two and could have easily stayed a month.

Must do: waterfall gorge swim - a slice of paradise all to yourself

Dorms are spacious with six to eight beds. There is one all female and the rest are mixed. Ours had an ensuite toilet and there is a separate shower and toilet block. The outdoor and kitchen space Is perfect for chilling out and socialising and hammocks hang between lemon and olive trees.
15 October 2014
Location: near to the centre of town, five minute walk to shops, restaurants and beach.
Cleanliness: average - could have been better but bedding was clean and in good condition.
Security: There were no lockers or safes for valuables and no locks on doors.
Noise: in a quiet location with no road noise. Lights off at 11pm in the communal areas but ear plugs needed as the blackout doors to the dorms ensure you wake up every time they open.


Stayed October 2014, travelled solo
10.0
Hands down the best hostel experience of my life. Excellent facilities, a beautiful location and the most genuine and caring staff I´ve ever encountered. My original booking was for 2 nights but they managed to accommodate me for 11 despite being fully booked! The atmosphere here is super relaxed and fun. A great place to meet people and chill out. Bit of a journey to get there so do yourself a favour and stay for a week!
  • 2014-07-24
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30


9.4
Very clean, very comfortable, all amenities needed for a typical hostel stay are there. This is the most social and favorite hostel I´ve stayed at. I left with a new family in Plakias, and I´ll be back! Excellent location for pristine beaches, great hikes, and the tastiest food I had in Greece. My only complaint is that the window in the all girls dorm doesn´t stay open in the wind, so it was always really hot in the room at night! But otherwise, a perfect stay that´ll be remembered.
  • 2015-07-15
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24


Awesome place
5 stars
Reviewed 2014-09-03

It`s like an exotic resort for the price of an ordinary youth hostel. The location and dorms are great, there are a huge amount of hiking trails, expeditions, and secret beaches to find, everything within walking distance of the hostel.

Uli the manager is really helpful and if he wants to go somewhere the day, go with him if you can, he will show you hidden treasures of Plakias and it`s surroundings.
Room Tip: Take the one with the most attractive people in it.
See more room tips


Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
More reviews...