english german

Youth Hostel Plakias

A green paradise at the southcoast of Europe

Thank you! Love

Book Online (no booking-fee / no credit card):

Choose number of guests and date of arrival and departure

Our Reviews

A chilled slice of paradise
4 stars
Reviewed 2014-10-15

This is the place to properly unwind and forget all your stresses. Uli, the supper chilled (German) Hollywood cameraman by winter and hostel manager by summer, will make you feel instantly welcomed and relaxed.

There are regular hostel BBQ dinners, free snorkel use and advice on the best beaches and gorge walks. I came for day, stayed two and could have easily stayed a month.

Must do: waterfall gorge swim - a slice of paradise all to yourself

Dorms are spacious with six to eight beds. There is one all female and the rest are mixed. Ours had an ensuite toilet and there is a separate shower and toilet block. The outdoor and kitchen space Is perfect for chilling out and socialising and hammocks hang between lemon and olive trees.
15 October 2014
Location: near to the centre of town, five minute walk to shops, restaurants and beach.
Cleanliness: average - could have been better but bedding was clean and in good condition.
Security: There were no lockers or safes for valuables and no locks on doors.
Noise: in a quiet location with no road noise. Lights off at 11pm in the communal areas but ear plugs needed as the blackout doors to the dorms ensure you wake up every time they open.


Stayed October 2014, travelled solo
10.0
I couldn´t recommend this enough! I had such a great time even when we had 2 days of rain and stormy weather there was plenty to get entertained with at the hostel.. Lovely atmosphere, lovely surroundings. Def coming back!
  • 2014-09-25
  • xxsther
  • Spain
  • Female, 31-40


10.0
The best hostel I have ever stayed at. The manager is so easy going and welcoming, creating a very social environment. The area around the hostel was incredible for all the great outdoor activites... Incredible picturesque hiking trails, private beaches, and the cliff jump was sooo much fun. Would definitely travel back to Crete just to stay at this hostel.
  • 2015-04-20
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24


Paradise!
5 stars
Reviewed 2015-10-31

Me and a friend stayed here for 5 days. Our stay was so amazing we almost didn`t want to leave.
If you`re travelling and need a wee break from all the hustle and bustle of cities, this is the place for you. The area is surrounded by beautiful hikes, river walks, monasteries, and beaches.
The hostel itself is clean, has a kitchen and cooking equipment, a fridge and cupboard to store food, and mini fridge if you fancy a juice, a beer, or a bottle of wine, all of which you can add to your bill.
There were two group BBQ`s while we were there, and everyone hung out playing board games, or card games during the days.
We had an absolutely lovely stay and if ever I return to Crete, I know where I`m going to stay.


Stayed October 2015, travelled with friends
100%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shani Busnach

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

2013-10-10

Liked: this hostel is SUPER! it`s located in the midst of beautiful hills overlooking the great beaches of Plakias, plenty to do around (awesome nudist beach, an old windmill and nice trails for relaxing walks). the hostel manager Uli is the nicest guy ever, knows everything there is to do, and brings all the travelers together, took us out to great tavernas to have lovely dinner and drinks cheap as heck! it`s chilled out, cool hammocks beneath the lemon trees, great breakfast (not included but real cheap and yummy), and wonderful company! I can`t wait to go back!

More reviews...